LOS ANGELES, CA Thursday Mar.29.2007 /netmusiccountdown.com/ -- OK Go, Death Cab For Cutie, Calexico, R.E.M., and Rogue Wave are just some of the artists backing Rock The Net, a campaign to make access to the internet free for everyone.

The Rock The Net website, www.futureofmusic.org, calls it "Network neutrality -- or Net Neutrality" and defines it as "the principle that preserves a free and open Internet. Net neutrality ensures that all users can access the content, or run the applications and devices of their choice."

According to a statement posted on the site, "Rock the Net is a nationwide coalition of musicians and labels that support net neutrality. We come together at this critical time to demonstrate to Congress and the FCC the music community's broad support for this principle. As musicians and entrepreneurs, we understand the importance of treating all websites equally -- from the busiest online music store to the smallest blog. We urge Congress to support network neutrality.

Many consumers are up in arms over a possible move by ISP's to charge fees to have some internet pages load faster than others.

So far, 155 bands and 29 labels have joined the Rock The Net front, with Rock The Net concerts in the works.

More on OK Go

More on Death Cab For Cutie

More on R.E.M.

Copyright ©2007, Net Music Countdown ®. All Rights Reserved.

print itprint this   eMail itemail this